Facing Your Fear Factor

What’s your biggest fear?                                man afraid                                                                        According to numerous studies the #1 fear of most people is public speaking. Is that you?

It used to be me.

Having been in the entertainment business as a pianist for many years, when I transitioned over to become a motivational speaker people said “that must have been easy for you because you’ve worked on a stage all your life”.

Not so much.

The truth is I had a fear of microphones. Since I played piano without singing, there was no need for a microphone when I worked. For 20+ years it was easy to talk to people from behind the piano. BUT………without the piano was like being without my blankie.     The piano was my crutch.

One day a friend took me to a Toastmasters meeting. Toastmasters is an international club that teaches people how to give speeches. For me this was big time scary stuff. How not to look like an idiot in front of a group of strangers without my blankie?

Much to my surprise I got hooked on the whole process of speaking in public and like anything else, the more I spoke the calmer my nerves. Don’t get me wrong, twelve years later I still get nervous before giving an inspirational speech on moving through fear to success, but nowadays that gives me the edge to do a great job.

Woman motivational speaker Theresa Behenna: Fail your way to Success!
Motivational speaker Theresa Behenna:
Fail your way to Success!

Whatever you’re afraid of, it’s probably not as bad as you imagine. We tend to exaggerate perceptions to the worst possible scenario. Most of our anxieties are over things that never happen.

Facing your fear is half the battle. Doing something about it is the other half. Whether it’s learning new technology, tackling an exercise program or signing up for online dating. Like Nike says: Just do it.

Gimme that microphone!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

