Want More Happiness? Try This.

 

happyness
        Jaden & Will Smith:     
     “Pursuit of Happyness”

Two funerals and a birthday in one week and I’m questioning life.

 Every August 20th I take an introspective look at what’s happened in the past year and ask myself:      Am I happy? 

 The answer is yes – most of the time (computer problems can kinda lead to a hissy fit) 

What about you? 

In doing research for a motivational speech, I read that one of the top 5 regrets of the dying is not spending enough time with friends and family. Studies show that time spent with friends & family makes a big difference in how happy we feel in general – even for introverts.

Harvard happiness expert Daniel Gilbert explains:
“We are happy when we have family, we are happy when we have friends and almost all the other things we think make us happy are actually just ways of getting more family and friends.”

A 72 year study of 268 men discovered that men who were thriving at age 65 had been close to a brother or sister when younger. It concluded that “the only things that really matters in life are your relationships to other people.”

 In other research it was found that relationships and how we help others were important factors in living long, happy lives. People that helped friends & neighbors tended to live to a ripe old age. 

lion
Furry friend
Leo the Lion
 
As I sit in contemplation on my birthday Number ??? I realize the reason I’m happy most of the time is because I’m blessed with wonderful people around me. Even though my real family is 12,000 miles away Down Under, the friends I’ve made here in Houston ARE my family. 

Color me happy and grateful.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

